BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
BTAinRVA
Quartz | Level 8

I am just learning to use Tabulate and I have a table of college student enrollments and have created a table that calculates the number of enrollments in each curriculum for each of the past 5 academic years using code similar to this:

Proc Tabulate data=test;

class curr acadyear;

tables curr all, acadyear*(N all);

run;

and it gives me a table like this:

Curr20200708200809200910201011201112

What I want to add is another column that calculates the mean for each curriculum for the 5 years. I've tried several things (most of which gave me the error message associated with not having an analysis variable). Is there a way to trick Tabulate to give me the mean of a class variable?

Thanks,

Brian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Brian,

Your current data set will not support the table you want.  But you're not that far from it.  Try this preparatory step:

proc freq data=test;

tables curr * acadyear / noprint out=summarized (keep=curr acadyear count);

run;

Then you should be able to use the data set SUMMARIZED as the input to PROC TABULATE.  Include a VAR COUNT; statement, and ask for the MEAN statistic instead of the N statistic:

proc tabulate data=summarized;

class curr acadyear;

var count;

tables curr all, (acadyear all) * count * mean;

run;

That's untested code, but it should be pretty close to what you need.

Good luck.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

You don't have a var statement specifying what variable to summarize. And when you say 'MEAN' do you mean the average number of enrollments over the 5 years? Or something else?

BTAinRVA
Quartz | Level 8

Reeza,

Thanks for the response!