BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Syntas_error
Quartz | Level 8

I'm studying towards the SAS advanced programmer certification and I'm trying to make sense of this piece of code in the preparation guide (p. 545):

data work.lookup1;
array Targets{1997:1999,12} _temporary_;
if _n_=1 then do i= 1 to 3;
set sasuser.ctargets;
array Mnth{*} Jan--Dec;
do j=1 to dim(mnth);
targets{year,j}=mnth{j};
end;

I understand the first parts, we create a data set and an array with three rows and twelve columns. I will assume that the rows in the array works as "observations" somehow so that the if-then statement can execute. We then create a new array "in" the do-step, and now I would need some clarificatoin:

1) Does using an asterisk automatically copy "all" of the values in the data set or only all the values for a single row (so that all values for both dimensions would be something like (*,*)?)

2) The prep guide claims that the "elements" of the array need to be defined when using an asterisk, hence the "Jan--Dec"-part. But what constitutes an "element"? Why is only "month" included as an "element" and no other variables?

3) When the do-step executes for the second and third time, how does the code make sure we fetch the data for the correct year (so that we don't get three identical rows?)

Kind regards/Magnus

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

First the data set is created, with an "empty" array with three rows and twelve columns. 

All data STEPS start with no variables defined until the compiler sees something in the code for the data step that will let it know what variables will be used.  Once the whole step is compiled then the compiler knows what variables will be written to the target dataset.

All variables are EMPTY until you assign them some values.