BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
acmilannesta
Calcite | Level 5

If I run this:

%let teststr=a, %*b, %*c, %;
%put %qscan(&teststr.,2,%str(*));

It runs perfectly fine and return:

b%

However if I put this into a macro:

%macro test;

%let teststr=a, %*b, %*c, %;
%put %qscan(&teststr.,2,%str(*));
%mend;

%test

Then there is no output. Does anyone know why?

Thanks,

Jason

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@acmilannesta wrote:

Thank you, Tom.

That works great. I am still a beginner for SAS.

Could you please tell what's the difference between a %let statement and a call symputx?

Does a %superq could mask some macro symbols such as % and *. I tried to use %bquote and %nrbquote, but that doesn't work.

A %LET statement is macro code. CALL SYMPUTX() is a function you can use with normal SAS code instead.

There are rules for how the SAS macro processor parses the text to see if there is any work for it. That leads to the need for the extra % mentioned so that it wouldn't see the percent in

%)

as instructions to treat the right parenthesis as part of the string instead of the closing parenthesis to the macro function call.

But in regular SAS code strings are enclosed in quotes.  And if you use single quotes then the macro processor ignores them. So by using a data step to set the macro variable value you don't need to worry if the value has any characters that the macro processor considers special.  However using CALL SYMPUTX() will not inject any macro quoting into the value of the macro variable.  So you need to take care when using it in macro code since it might contain characters, like comma in this case, that will have a special meaning if not macro quoted.