BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
FEFE90
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new in SAS and having hard time figuring out freq and sort procedures. Please assist me with the following questions:

Which industry code has the most records in file Q_COMP_SHORT10_18?  

Which State has the most records in file Q_COMP_SHORT10_18?

Find the Top100 records with the highest average inventory turnover?

I am not sure if the industry code is SIC or TIC ?

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

You can run a PROC FREQ and specify that the data is ordered by frequency so that you can easily find the top values. 

I would assume SIC is Standard Industry Classification but that's not something someone external can answer with any certainty because we don't know about your data. 

Here's an example on how you'd answer which is the more frequent SEX in the data set

proc freq data=sashelp.class order=freq;
table sex;
run;

@FEFE90 wrote:

Hello,

I am new in SAS and having hard time figuring out freq and sort procedures. Please assist me with the following questions:

Thank you

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

You can run a PROC FREQ and specify that the data is ordered by frequency so that you can easily find the top values. 

I would assume SIC is Standard Industry Classification but that's not something someone external can answer with any certainty because we don't know about your data. 

Here's an example on how you'd answer which is the more frequent SEX in the data set

proc freq data=sashelp.class order=freq;
table sex;
run;

@FEFE90 wrote:

Hello,

Thank you

FEFE90
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for your response. so we don't have to sort the data before using proc freq ? 

Bests

PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Try it! You'll see.

PG
Reeza
Super User

@FEFE90 wrote: