BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Proglegs
Calcite | Level 5

Syntax error.  My SAS code for EMPLID's all start with a zero, for example - 02472.   My code and error is as follows: 

Proglegs_0-1723470993021.png

I am new at SAS so please forgive.  Help!

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

Please do not post pictures of code or log entries. Copy the text from the editor or log window and on the forum open a text box using the </> icon that appears above the message window and paste the text there. For any question regarding errors in code please post the entire procedure or data step as well. Sometimes depending on what you have actually submitted SAS will not detect some sorts of logic or missing semicolon problems until later in the code when something else is encountered.

The text box is important to preserve formatting as text pasted into message windows on this forum will be reformatted and might hide the actual problem. Also for code related questions if we have to completely retype significant portions of your code instead of copy/paste/ edit to make a small change it is less likely to occur.

I am guessing that you are running proc import. Proc Import does not support an option on the proc statement with where.

You can provide a data set option with a where clause but that would appear immediately after the name of the output data set, would be in parantheses and as data set option appears as (where=(condition goes here) ); So would look something like

out= work.whaterverthatnameis (where=(condition) )

An example of too lazy to retype your entire code right there because I can't copy the data set name from a picture and the way the forum renders them the text in the picture is next to impossible to read when responding.