BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
DathanMD
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Guys,

I am new to SAS and I would love someone to crack for me this logic?

I have a dataset with patients and weight taken on several days. However, some patients have multiple readings on same day. I would like to keep one row per patient per day. I have concluded that entries with more decimal places are likely to be incorrect. Therefore, where one patient has multiple weights on same day, I would take the one with the lowest number of decimal places. However, where a patient has only one weight on a specific day, I would like to keep the the available weight (regardless of the decimal places). The data I have is table_1 and the data i want is table 2

table_1

patient

mental_score

date

weight

weight_type

15-02-10

15-02-10

13-03-08

13-03-08

13-03-08

23-10-09

08-12-10

08-12-10

08-12-10

07-06-99

07-06-99

29-01-98

07-06-99

07-06-99

09-02-00

09-02-00

09-02-00

table_2

patient

mental_score

date

weight

weight_type

15-02-10

13-03-08

23-10-09

08-12-10

07-06-99

29-01-98

07-06-99

09-02-00

Thank you, a lot,

Dathan Bonanebye

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Actual example input data in the form of a data step.

Or at least print a before and after result.

Subset the input to some that has the problem. Use a where statement to subset the data to some of the Ids.

Largish sorts may run quicker using the TAGSORT option but that would not affect the First. processing.

This data set:

data want;
set have;
by patient lab_d;
decimal=lengthn (scan(put(lab_v,best32. -L),2,'.'));
run;

does not need By processing and appears to likely have a spelling issue between lab_d and lab_v.