BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
GDy1
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm new to SAS and I can't find a solution to what I'm trying to do.  I want the output from my 1st SQL from one database to be an input to my 2nd SQL from another database, i.e., 2 different database connections.

The 1st SQL's output are numeric values stored in varchar2 datatype and the 2nd SQL field for the IN clause is also a varchar2 datatype.

I'm trying to use a macro variable called resultdata.  The 1st SQL returned the numeric values separated by comma but they are not in single quotes.   The 2nd SQL returned an ERROR: ORACLE execute error: ORA-01722: invalid number because it was expecting the INPUT to be in single quotes.   Please help.   Thanks in advance.

Below is a sample of my SAS code.   

===========================

proc sql noprint;
connect to oracle (user=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX pw=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
path="(DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=hostname1)(PORT=1521))(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVER=DEDICATED)(SERVICE_NAME=sv1)))");
select * into: resultdata separated by ','
from connection to oracle
(
SELECT '852' AS DATA FROM DUAL
union
SELECT '229' AS DATA FROM DUAL
);
disconnect from oracle;
%put &resultdata;
quit;

proc sql;
path="(DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=hostname2)(PORT=1521))(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVER=DEDICATED)(SERVICE_NAME=sv2)))");
select *
(SELECT * FROM table
WHERE ID IN (&resultdata)
);
disconnect from oracle;
quit;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Create a SAS dataset with the list of codes.

Break them into groups.

Use one group to pull some of the data. Repeat for each group.

So change your first SELECT ... INTO to a CREATE TABLE as SELECT .... instead.  Then assign the groups.

proc sql noprint;
connect to oracle (... your connection details here ... ;
create table list as select * from connection to oracle