BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kptkhv
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello! I am new to SAS, but I need to get data from it with python. I connected to sas with saspy over passwordless ssh. No problems with connection and getting sasdata from there. 

The problem is that my table is very large but I need only 2 columns from there. Is it possible to select only 2 columns and save it to csv?

Now I can only get the output table in jupyter notebook, but it stored as html or txt, so that is not what I need.

16 REPLIES 16
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

See this example of creating a csv file with a subset of columns:

data _null_; * do not create a dataset, but give me the power of the data step;
set sashelp.class; * read dataset;
file '$HOME/class.csv' dlm=',' dsd; * define target;
put name sex; * write data;
run;
sastpw
SAS Employee

Hey, to do this with saspy, is fairly simple. Not knowing your talbe or anything, I'll make up names, but you would change them for your data.

import saspy

sas = saspy.SASsession()

sas

table = sas.sasdata('your_table','libref_if_not_work', dsopts={'keep' : 'column1 column2'})

df = table.to_df()  #now you have a dataframe with the two columns (col1 and col2) from the table in the libref you wanted.

As for saving to csv, you can do that from the dataframe (df.to_csv()  that's the pandas method). Or, you could do that from SAS without bringing the data over to python inthe first place:

table.to_csv('path/filename.csv')  # now you have a .csv file with the two columns. this is the saspy to_csv() method

If you are running a local SAS, the csv file is on your machine. If it's a remote (which you said SSH, so it's remote), you can use the download method to pull it over to your local machine, if you need it there.

sas.download('local_file_path', 'path/filename.csv')  # now you have local_file_path/filename.csv file on your machine