BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
vinpres
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi to all

I'm new to SAS world and I'm starting to use the 9.2 version of SAS.

The main use of SAS for me is as developer of ETL (Extraction, transformation and loading) processes.

Kindly, can anyone tell me where I find the "basic training"/"getting started" (like for dummy) documentations?

The main tools that I have to use is the SAS Data Integration Studio, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Management Console and SAS Flow Manager.

In particular, I would like to know where I find the "basic training"/"getting started" (like for dummy) documentations for the above tools.

Thanks in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

For Data Integration Studio, go here.

For SAS Management Console, I suggest to start here.

To learn SAS programming as such, I suggest to work through the free online Programming 1 course.

For SAS Enterprise Guide, go here.

Reeza
Super User
9.2 is a really old version of SAS (pre 2011) so when you search for anything ensure you're using the right version as many new features will not be in 9.2.

ballardw
Super User

ETL to some extend is going to depend on the source of the data.

If extracting from some other data base then you would likely be better off if you have the appropriate SAS/ACCESS  (to Oracle DB2 Teradata or what have you). One issue with that is I suspect that SAS 9.2 didn't have all of the access tools current.

Another is if you intend to have relatively native connections Microsoft products like Excel and Access. The SAS/Access to PCfiles is a start but an run into issues quickly with 32bit vs 64bit issues between the version of SAS and Office installed. If one is 32bit and the 64bit then things seldom go well.