BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Reeza
Super User
From my original post: If you used PROC IMPORT see the code that is generated in the log and modify it according or write your own data step to import the data correctly.

I'm assuming you can look at the code and figure out the difference between the character and numeric variables and change it but if you're having difficulties post the code.
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@u58469353 wrote:

Thanks for your reply. I am completely new to SAS coding. So honestly I'm not sure how to perform the suggestions you are telling me about. When I used the code I just posted, it does change the variables to numeric and I have no issues with completing to multiple linear regression. At first ,the dataset I imported did contain 3 variables that showed up as characters rather than numeric, and they are causing me problems.

Again, you miss the point. Region is not numeric, it is categorical, and so it is meaningless to convert it to a numeric and run a regression with a numeric region. Converting a categorical variable to numeric makes no sense from a logical, mathematical or statistical understanding. Just because you can convert it to numeric does not mean you SHOULD convert it to numeric, and does not mean you will get useful or correct answers. Don't blame this on being new to SAS, this is not a SAS issue at all, this is an issue where either you understand the data and the needs of the analysis and make correct decisions on how to use it, or you don't understand the data and don't understand the needs of the analysis, and make incorrect decisions on how to use it.

You need to keep region as a category and either create dummy variables for PROC REG, or better yet, go ahead and switch to PROC GLM and put region and gender in a CLASS statement, as stated above.