BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8

Hi everyone, I'm new to SAS programming and I'm trying to change the value of some macro variables.

I have parameters in my programs where you can insert 2 product codes, for example '12345', '54321', you have to enter them that way literally, with quotes and everything.

Those values are stored in a &product macrovariable, so if we do a %put &product; would return us '12345','54321'.

What I want to do is remove those quotes that are in the middle and that results in '12345,54321'

I have tried to do this:

%let producto = '12345','54321';

%let product = %sysfunc(tranwrd(&producto,"'"," "));

ERROR: The function TRANWRD referenced by the %SYSFUNC or %QSYSFUNC macro function has too many arguments.

but it tells me that tranwrd has many arguments, does anyone know why? Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
%sysfunc(tranwrd(%quote(&producto),%nrstr(%',%'),%str(,)))
--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Use 

But really, don't create macro variables with quotes around the values, if you can possibly avoid doing so. Macro variables with quotes around the values is just extra work when you have to remove the quotes; and can potentially cause problems.

The error you got is caused by the comma in &PRODUCTO, and so then TRANWRD thinks there is another comma and extra arguments.

--
Paige Miller
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8

Thank you very much for your help but it only returns the first value of the macrovariable, I don't know if there is something I'm doing wrong but I'll send you a photo of the log. 

prueba.PNG

The value of product is '12345','54321' and it only returns '12345'.

It would also be worth something to remove all the single quotes, that is, to keep it at 12345.54321.

Either option is valid.