BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cactooos
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I am new to SAS programming, is there an easy way how can I rearrange the table below to get the build shown on the right?table1.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Duggins
Obsidian | Level 7

Something like the following will work for the data you've shown. (In the future, it would help if you provided a working piece of code that includes the data you'd like to process.) The code I provided does make some assumptions about your data based on the fact that in the data you showed, you do not have duplicates of a date within the same value of Var1. If you expect duplicates, or your data set is otherwise different, you may find a DATA step-based approach more flexible.

data have;
  input var1 $ var2 var3 var4 Date $;
  cards;
abc 10 15 20 Feb-20
def 11 16 21 Feb-20
abc 12 16 21 Mar-20
xyz 10 17 23 Mar-20
  ;
run;

proc sort data = have;
  by var1 date;
run;

proc transpose data = have out = want(drop = _name_);
  by var1;
  id date;
  var var2 var3 var4;
run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Duggins
Obsidian | Level 7

Something like the following will work for the data you've shown. (In the future, it would help if you provided a working piece of code that includes the data you'd like to process.) The code I provided does make some assumptions about your data based on the fact that in the data you showed, you do not have duplicates of a date within the same value of Var1. If you expect duplicates, or your data set is otherwise different, you may find a DATA step-based approach more flexible.

data have;
  input var1 $ var2 var3 var4 Date $;
  cards;
abc 10 15 20 Feb-20
def 11 16 21 Feb-20
abc 12 16 21 Mar-20
xyz 10 17 23 Mar-20
  ;
run;

proc sort data = have;
  by var1 date;
run;

proc transpose data = have out = want(drop = _name_);
  by var1;
  id date;