BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
WarrenKuhfeld
Ammonite | Level 13

Let me follow up on my line mode comment. When I was a SAS developer, I did most of my editing in emacs. I developed some emacs commands to write the entire buffer, from the point down, a marked region, or the next step to a file then automatically %include that file in the SAS line mode window. It was like my personal display manager. Now granted, as a SAS developer, my methods of using SAS were different than most users. I would at times enable debugging code, and I always wanted to see those results in amongst the log and output. It worked really well for me, and a number of my colleagues used my emacs tools. As primitive as line mode seems, I found it highly effective when coupled with some SAS-specific editing capabilities.

rasmuslarsen
Obsidian | Level 7
Line mode sounds good. However it is only on Linux right?
I am on Windows (I should have written that in the question).
WarrenKuhfeld
Ammonite | Level 13

I used Unix for most of my career, so haven't tried it, but this should be helpful. https://documentation.sas.com/doc/en/pgmsascdc/9.4_3.5/hostwin/p16esisc4nrd5sn1ps5l6u8f79k6.htm#n1rc...

Reeza
Super User
RStudio would have had two or three output windows as well. You would have had the console which is the log, then you would have any RMD or Output files which are more similar to ODS output files and the plots in the bottom right corner. You can use a Jupyter Notebook with SAS, perhaps that will get you closer to the same type of functionality you need.

rasmuslarsen
Obsidian | Level 7

No. Working in an rscript typically looks like this:

rasmuslarsen_1-1626780296372.png

Both the results and the log-messages goes in the console.

Any plots generated are either in side panel or popup-window.