BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
tan-wongv
Obsidian | Level 7

tanwongv_0-1709273067135.png

I have a dataset with multiple record dates per ID (DMRN). As you can see that the sample with DMRN = 16 has Null for tobacco_user at the first visit. I would like to impute the NULL with the value from other visits (In this case it will be Never). Can anyone help me with the SAS code? I am very new to SAS program and still have so many things to learn. Thank you very much.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Welcome to the SAS Communities. 

Your screenshot doesn't show such a case but "in theory" there could also be "NULL" after a date where you had another value. I assume in such a case you would just want to repeat the last earlier value that wasn't "NULL" ...which then gets us into a situation where we need logic for both a look ahead (for the first row per dmrn) and a look behind once there was a value other than "NULL".

The SAS data step just iterates over the rows from a source table which makes a look behind easy because that's a row you've already read in an earlier iteration. You can use the lag() function or the retain statement for this.

A look-ahead is a bit harder to code for because you need information from a source row that hasn't been read yet. In below sample code I'm first creating a table "inter" that contains the first row from "have" per dmnr where the value is not "NULL". I then use the MERGE statement for this "look ahead". ...you will need to read-up a bit how the SAS data step MERGE statement works when there are same named variables in more than one of the source tables (=the value from which table wins for same named variables).

data have;
  input dmrn dx_date:date9. tobacco_user $;
  have_tobacco_user=tobacco_user;
  format dx_date date9.;
  datalines;
16 01jan2024 NULL
16 02jan2024 Never
16 03jan2024 NULL