BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lisa2002
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello everyone,

I need some assistance with my data set... I'm still learning and I need to complete the question below for a work project.

/*what is the average BMI for each age group 2-10, 11-20, 21-30, 31-40, 41-55, and 56+ ?*/

This is what I have...I get my column but no rows, what am I missing? Please assist if possible.

proc sql;
create table BMItotals as
select mean(BMI) as BMIAVG
from sashelp.bmimen
where Age= 2-10
group by BMI, Age;
quit;

age    bmi

2        2.6

2.1     18.6

2.1      19

6         16.8

6         15.5

8         16.1

8          17.3

10       15.9

20        16.9

1 REPLY 1
ballardw
Super User

Usually you want the variables you are grouping by on the SELECT clause as well.

However you are not specifying a range correctly.

where Age= 2-10

is going to select records where Age is the result of 2-10 or -8. Unlikely value.

where 2 le age le 10

would be more likely.

However, since the data set mentioned includes ages values such as 10.2 which group does that fall into 2-10 or 11-20? What would the rule be?

One way in SAS to create groups when using a single variable is a custom format such as below:

proc format library=work;
value agegrp
2 - < 11 = ' 2 to 10'
11 -< 21 = '11 to 20'
21 -< 31 = '21 to 30'
31 -< 41 = '31 to 40'
41 -< 56 = '41 to 55'
56 - high= '56+'
;

Proc means data=sashelp.bmimen nway;
  class age ;
  format age agegrp.;
  var bmi;
  output out=work.BMItotals mean= BMIAvg;
run;