BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Susanknoll727
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am working on a dataset in SAS Studio, which I have never worked on before. I have VISITDATE and DOB variables and AGEATVISIT (all numeric). There are a handful of the AGE that are 0 that I would like to calculate the age for. Below is my code and Log included. What is wrong with my code? Thank you! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

The Error  you get is pretty clear, you have a / in the code where it doesn't belong. So nothing was actually done.

Additionally, the 'dtday' value for interval in INTCK or INTNX function would be to use the date part of a DATETIME values, which are stored as numbers of seconds.

Unless you did something pretty unnatural with the date vales shown in your CSV, which appear to be mm/dd/yyyy values such as VisitDate = 10/20/2030 and should be DATE values (number of days).

It also would be returning the number of day boundaries between the dates.

If you want an age in years the interval would be 'year' for date values. However the way that INTCK works the result of a 'year' when the start date is 31DEC2020 and the end date is 01JAN2021 by default is 1 because the year boundary occurs between the two dates. To use Intck to get reasonable age in years the way most of count age you add the method='C' (or 'Continuous') so the length of a year is considered, not the date of the year boundary.

data example;
   age = intck('year','17JUN1987'd,'20APR2030'd,'C');
run;

You may want to share the results of running Proc Contents on your GRC1 data set to confirm the variable types, informats and formats.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Seems you did not post your code or log?

Susanknoll727
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Peter,

Thought I did. Let me try again!

Thanks!

ballardw
Super User