BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
billyfok30
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone 

I'm totally new to Text mining and am doing my coursework. 

I need some guidance on what is Max SVD dimension and SVD Resolution. 

I understand that SVD Resolution is the setting of low, high and medium. (how do they relate to each other)

after setting the SVD Resolution, need to set the MAX SVD dimension. (May I know how do I determine the value when I set the SVD resolution e.g low? and how they relate  to each other (Max SVD dimension and SVD Resolution )

once I determine the setting, click run> results. Need to focus 3 areas, Clusters Freq, Cluster Freq by RMS and Distance Between Clusters. I need some guidance on how to interpret the results.

is there any node to compare 2 different Text Cluster (low, 100 vs high,100) algorithm? because of my coursework requirement, is needed to compare both algorithms. 

1 REPLY 1
DougWielenga
SAS Employee

I need some guidance on what is Max SVD dimension and SVD Resolution. 

The short answer...

The number of automatic topics you request is the number of SVD dimensions used. Each SVD dimension corresponds to the topic. You can select low, medium, or high resolution for the number of dimensions. The resolution determines the number of computed dimensions set by the maximum SVD dimension property that should be used by the clustering algorithm.  Low, medium, and high resolutions correspond to 2/3, 5/6, and 6/6 (100%) of the computed dimensions, respectively.

Some more details...

The SVD option creates orthogonal columns that characterize the terms data set in fewer dimensions than the document by term matrix. A high number of SVD dimensions usually summarizes the data better but requires a lot of computing resources. In addition, the higher the number, the higher the risk of fitting to noise. The default transform method is the SVD. The default number of dimensions that the SVD creates is 100.