BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cpcb123
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, 

I am still quite new to SAS, so I'm looking for help. I'm trying to create a new variable that accumulates a numeric variable, Data Value, and is specific to the year 2020 for each state. My current data has multiple entries for each state for 2020 because there are observations for each month. I'm not interested in the months, just the year totals per state. My current code is:

data FinalOutput;
set Final.opioiddeaths;
where Indicator='Number of Drug Overdose Deaths';
keep State Indicator Year 'Data Value'n TotalDeaths;
by State;
if Year='2020' then output;
retain TotalDeaths 0;
TotalDeaths=TotalDeaths+'Data Value'n;
run;

The output shows only the observations for 2020. However, my new variable TotalDeaths is an accumulation of Data Values from all years. Is there a way in the data step for only the TotalDeaths in 2020 to accumulate by State? If this changes anything, I considered grouping it by Year but I need to do it by State as I am using it to merge tables later on. 

Thank you

7 REPLIES 7
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

@cpcb123 , can you show us som esample of your data? Makes it much easier to provide a usable code answer.

cpcb123
Calcite | Level 5

This is my current output. Is there anything else I can send to help as well?

Screenshot (9).png

PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

So you want all observations from your original data set, but you want to accumulate the variable TotalDeaths when year = 2020. Is that correct?

Otherwise, please be very specific about what your data looks like (preferably posted as a data step) and your desired result. 

cpcb123
Calcite | Level 5
Yes, that is correct. However, would it be easier to assign TotalDeaths as a sum of Data Value for each state in 2020? I'm sorry I know that is not my original question
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20