BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Tywop
Calcite | Level 5

Hello guys, I am new here, first time using SAS. My name is Luciano and I am a brazilian student. 

I usually do my work with Stata software, however, this time, I needed to diversify my methods.

I want to import a governmental .txt file, but for some reason, it is impossible to read in Stata or R with normal functions as import delimited, read.delim, etc. So I opted for SAS because, for this data in this year specifically, they made inputs for reading the .txt file in SAS, which help the process if, of course, you have some expertise with SAS.

I am now using SAS on demand, but I am facing a lot of trouble trying to read the inputs. I will attach the input for the data. The error message that the SAS on demand is showing me is: 

Tywop_0-1653677140535.png

It is really strange, because I write in the code just "C:\DADOS_ENEM_2006.TXT", without the "/pbr/biconfig/...".

Can anyone help me?

Sorry for the trouble. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

You can upload the file to a cloud storage and read it via a URL. However, once you read it, the file will likely get bigger and you're going to have trouble processing that with SAS On Demand as the files will be too large. If you work with a University you'll want to get a software version to install on your computer directly or on a cloud platform somewhere. 

SAS On Demand isn't designed for large scale processing of data.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

There is no C drive on the UNIX machine where the SAS code is running.