BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
joostman1
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, Im fairly new to SAS and am wresting with my code which, in my head, seems easy to do. Unfortunately SAS and I are not really understanding each other 😉 

My purpose is to provide a random nummer from 1 to 9 characters and convert this into a 9 character output, possible with leading zeros.
For Example if I enter 12345 I wanted the data to be like 000012345 and get this value into a variable for new actions.

I am able to get a dataset from this

%let Number = 12345678;

/*grab the variable 'Number' from the previous step and put the value in "NewNumber"*/
Data NotNine;
NewNumber = &Number;
run;

/*Create from "NewNumber " a nine char number and put this in "NineNumber "*/
DATA IsNine (DROP=NewNumber);
SET NotNine;
NineNumber = (PUT(NewNumber, z9.));
RUN;

Now I have two datasets, "NotNine" and "IsNine"

In my example above:

- "NotNine" contains "NewNumber = 12345"

- "IsNine" contains "NineNumber = 000012345"

Now I need to have the content of NineNumber for an SQL statement. Thus I was thinking I need to get the NineNumber into a variable (%LED) statement.

Putting things like 

SET NotNine;
%LET NineNumber = (PUT(NewNumber, z9.));
RUN;

did not work.
Also creative variations like was not what worked.

SET NotNine;
%LET NewNineNumber = NineNumber;
RUN;

I am guessing this is because I (have and) only want the contents of the first entry of the dataset, but not specifying this somewhere?

But how to I get the first entry of the dataset to be put in a variable that I can use in a next PROC SQL statement?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User
SET NotNine;
RUN;

Macro statements are resolved by the macro processor while the code is being fetched for compilation and execution, so long before the data step runs. Your code is equivalent to this:

SET NotNine;
RUN;