BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Helal
Fluorite | Level 6

I am fairly new to using SAS and have a project to upload 100 SAS data sets to SQL server with their meta data or their complete data dictionaries. I am using SAS 9.4. I transferred SAS data sets to SQL as only raw data files with no data labels. So, I need to extract a comprehensive data dictionary for all data sets in the library. The dictionary includes at least variable/column names, variable/column labels, value labels, variable/column type. Example of displaying variable Gender is:

Variable/Column name = GenderTyp

Variable/Column Label=GenderTyp

Value Labels = 2='Female' 1= 'Male'

Variable/Column Type=Char

Proc content will give me all info I need but Value Labels. Same with Proc SQL; select dictionary.column;

How do I get Value labels? Attached file shows here is how Gender is stored in the demographic data set.

Thank you,

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User
Assuming you mean formats, you can use the SASHELP.VTABLE for table meta data, VCOLUMN for column level metadata and VFormats for the format information. For the specific format definitions you can extract them using PROC FORMAT with a CNTLOUT data set.
Helal
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you Reeza.

Helal
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Reeza,

I am still struggling to get values or value labels off my SAS data sets. Using your suggestion for a single variable in the data set will give me the followings. First here is the code:

Proc SQL;
select *
from sashelp.vcolumn
where libname="CENCD" and name='Anger_37_C';
Quit;

The output is attached (Figure 1). The only info I need for this variable is Column Name and Label+ value(or valuer labels). If I run a simple Frequency for this variable, I get the output (Figure 2 in the attached Excel file). So, my question is how can I get something like this:

Name                         Labels                                                                              Value