BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Bananas
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm new to sas. I'm trying to do most of it myself but I'm having a little trouble. I want to total up four categories but for each individual value. 

This was my code for totaling columns. I don't know how to total rows and I have like 5000 rows. Is it something similar to this?

proc print data=lab.data;
sum candy;
run;

What I have:

CandyChipsFruitSandwiches

What I want:

CandyChipsFruitSandwichesTotal of everything eaten
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You have to do this in a DATA step, using the SUM function.

data want;
    set have;
    total=sum(of candy--sandwiches);
run;

or

data want;
    set have;
    total=sum(candy,chips,fruit,sandwiches);
run;

Also, since you are new, it might help you in the future to use the proper terminology ... candy and chips and fruit and sandwiches are VARIABLES and not categories.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You have to do this in a DATA step, using the SUM function.

data want;
    set have;
    total=sum(of candy--sandwiches);
run;

or

data want;
    set have;
    total=sum(candy,chips,fruit,sandwiches);
run;

Also, since you are new, it might help you in the future to use the proper terminology ... candy and chips and fruit and sandwiches are VARIABLES and not categories.

--
Paige Miller
Bananas
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, 

would I still use the code below to see the new table. When i do this, it gives me the totals of the columns, not the rows.

proc print data= work.transform;
sum candy chips fruit sandwiches;
run;

Bananas
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I appreciate anyone who is taking the time to help me. I'm trying to learn online.

That's just the name of my data table. I had to multiply each variable by a certain number so it was:

DATA transform;