BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shami
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm new to SAS and have cleaned my dataset and have it as follows:

VxDate

Moderna

Pfizer

Spikevax

Total

Year

VxMonth

07/05/2023

July

08/07/2023

August

09/05/2023

September

I would like to create a report that summarizes the vaccines by month and the total vaccines administered each month. The above only shows 3 dates, my data has dates from Jan 2023 to Dec 2023.
I would like data in the following format:

VaxType

July

August

September

Total

Moderna

Pfizer

Spikevax

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

There's a lot of things to get right here in order to produce the desired table. First, a long data set (like HAVE_T in the program below) is always preferable to a wide data set, but you start with a wide data set. Why is a long data set preferable? Because almost all SAS data handling and analysis procedures work properly with a long data set. So as a long-term best practice, do not create wide data sets, create long data sets.

So the first step is to use PROC TRANSPOSE to create a long data set named HAVE_T. I cannot work with HAVE, but I can work with HAVE_T.

Next, here in the SAS Communities, we prefer (and usually insist) that data be presented as working SAS data step code. Screen captures and table images such as the one your present are difficult to work with, and so many people will request you create a data set that is working SAS data step code, as I have presented (please see examples and instructions). I did the work to create SAS code in this case, please you do the work from now on to present data that way, and test your code to make sure it work before including it into the problem statement.