BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
eynerg
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I have a data set which has start and stop times for hourly rates. Each subject has a rate for every hour, but since it was input as only when the rate changes and the time of change is variable, it is hard to standardize. I want to convert this into what the rate is at each hour so it is easier to compare the subjects and then pull out certain time blocks. I am having trouble doing this, I think bc I have never worked with time variables in SAS before.

What I have:

start_time_1

stop_time_1

rate_1

start_time_2

stop_time_2

rate_2

...etc up to 12

What I want:

rate000

rate100

rate200

...etc for each hour of the day

I started trying to figure out how to make it choose what rate to pick for each hour, but it stopped working at 200:

Data work.rates;

set work.rates;
rate000 = rate_1;
run;

data WORK.rates;
set WORK.rates;
if start_time_2 > 1 then rate100 = rate_1; 
if start_time_2 <= 1 then rate100 = rate_2;

data WORK.rates;
set WORK.rates;
if start_time_2 > 2 then rate200 = rate_1; 

if start_time_2 <= 2 then rate200 = rate_2;

etc.

Thank you in advance! 

2 REPLIES 2
Reeza
Super User

Here's a great, but longer and in depth, reference for dates and times in SAS
https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/Working-with-Dates-and-Times-in-SAS-Tutorial/...

I highly suggest you read that first and also look into time functions and determine if you have SAS ETS. If so some of the procs there can help you with your analysis.

@eynerg wrote:

Hello all,