BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
pubhealthguy
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am working with an NHANES dataset and have randomly split it using

proc surveyselect data=Table1 samprate=0.50 outall seed=1234 out=SplitData 
           method=srs noprint;
		         run;

Now I am wanting to compare outcomes for two methods of measuring blood pressure. Each group has been assigned one of the methods. For example, I want to know if there is statistical difference between the two groups with prevalence of MI/Stroke/Heart Failure. As an example, for Group 1 MI=40, Stroke=39, HF=40 and Group 2 MI=54, Stroke=47  HF=49. Are there statistically significant more MIs in Group 2?

I am brand new to SAS and cannot understand how to do this. The best I've come up with is

proc freq data = SplitData1 order=formatted;
tables MI? * BloodPressure?/ chisq;
run;

Do I need to turn Blood Pressure which is a continuous variable into a categorical variable?

I would really appreciate some advice. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

If you still want to go with the proc freq analysis, I think you need:

proc freq data = SplitData1;
tables MI * Selected / chisq;
run;

Variable Selected is created by proc surveyselect in the output dataset when you use option outall.

PG

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

Do you want to compare this across the entire data set? If so, what is the purpose of splitting the data?

I believe that NHANES data is a complex survey structure and would require the SURVEY versions of Freq , Means and such for analysis.

I strongly suggest that you investigate the links here:  https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/tutorials/NHANES/downloads/intro.htm

to find example code.