BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
texasmfp
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Just ran 6546 combinations in 41 minutes (need a faster computer!).  I learned a lot from this discussion. 

Thanks to all.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@texasmfp wrote:
Thanks Tom. I have no idea what you just said. Subsetting, scalable are meaningless terms to me. I am a novice.

Subsetting: taking a part out of a greater amount of data, which may be variables within an observation, or a dataset. In SAS parlance, "subsetting" is often used in "subsetting if", which is this construct:

if <condition>;

an "if" statement without a "then". It means that if the condition is not met, the rest of the data step iteration (including any output) is skipped. This is used similar to a where condition, but can use variables created in the data step.

Scalable: means that a process will work for any conceivable amount of data, with no consequences except more resource usage and longer run times. In your case, the process did not scale, because you used a very limited tool (64K is really small nowadays) along the way.

ballardw
Super User

An example using a data set you should have access to.

First create a data set of the variables whose values you want to keep (or exclude about the same difficulty).

This data set will contain a value that I know does not actually exist in the data set I am going to extract from:

data work.names;
    length name  $ 8;
    input name;
datalines;
Alice
Judy
Henry
Jacques
;
run;

Now use proc sql to find the values that have matching names.

data work.names;
    length name  $ 8;
    input name;
datalines;
Alice
Judy
Henry
Jacques
;
run;

If you look at the data set work.want you will find that only records with matching values of Name are in the output.

Which is exactly what your example no longer working data step:

DATA DATA;
SET DATA1;
IF ISO IN (%unquote(&val));
RUN;