BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Oernfeldt
Calcite | Level 5

Dear all, 

I am new to SAS but advanced in STATA. I have a variable called hfaudd (highest accomplished education) which I would like to formate to a better (esier to interpret) variable with Primary school, Upper secondary school, higher education and Post graduate. The variabel is confusing build up, where it goes from 1-9914 with each education being a differnt number.

I got a piece of code from a collegue: Newvar = put(hfaudd, $AUDD2010-LIL5-K.), which for me look like SAS. Can anyone tell me what "$AUDD2010-LIL5-K" is supossed to do? or maybe the hole thing in a contekts? 

I know AUDD is a register, but do not know about LIL. 

Then if i am lucky I could start seeing a pattern in the variable and might even be able to solve the problem in STATA. 

Best Mads Ø

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Panagiotis
SAS Employee

Looks like it's a custom format for your specific use case. So someone most likely created it.

For example.

I have this data for my business

Column

That doesn't mean much. I am creating a custom format to make this more meaningful.

My custom format is named businesstype, and will format those numbers to the following:

1 = Local

2 = Global

3 = Unknown

Now I can apply that custom format I created into a new column.

So I would use:

newColumn = put(column, $businesstype.)

New table will look like this:

Column   NewColumn

1              Local

2             Global

1             Local

1             Local

3             Unknown

The $ sign in front of the format indicates it's character. The put function returns a value using a specified format.

PUT Function

Format PROC