BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Schmageggy
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I need to find the lowest value in a date column, but i'm not entirely sure how to go about it.

Sample data attached.

I'm new to this, but I tried using a min function, that didn't work.

Tried creating a case to cover it, but that didn't either, any help is appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@Schmageggy 

If you want to select the row with the lowest datetime value within a group then code as below should do the job.

data have;
  do record='Record1', 'Record2';
    do othervar=0 to 100000 by 10000;
      dttm=datetime()-othervar;
      output;
    end;
  end;
  stop;
  format dttm datetime20.;
run;

proc sql;
/*  create table want as*/
  select
    record,
    othervar,
    min(dttm) as min_dttm format=datetime20.
  from have
  group by record
  having min(dttm)=dttm
  ;
quit;

The SQL above is something you can "click together" using the EG Query Builder.

Once you create the calculated column "min_dttm" you will get additional options to chose from.

The GROUP BY in above SQL gets created based on what you define in pane "Summary Groups"

The HAVING clause gets created based on what you define under tab "Filter Data"/"Filter the summarized data"

Correction:

The having clause was:  having max(dttm)=dttm

The test must use min() of course: having min(dttm)=dttm

Fixed now.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You can use PROC MEANS or PROC SUMMARY and have it compute the MIN of the column of interest.

The MIN function (which you tried) finds the minimum across a row.

--
Paige Miller
Reeza
Super User
What do you want to do with the minimum after you find it?

The approaches here may help, just replace mean with min.
https://github.com/statgeek/SAS-Tutorials/blob/master/add_average_value_to_dataset.sas