BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TP055972
Calcite | Level 5

Hello there!

I am currently a student working on a dataset and one question I have is there a way to identify incomplete/partial data in a dataset?

Looking at the rows 1 by 1 isn't ideal as the dataset has over 900,000 rows. 

Thank you for time. 

5 REPLIES 5
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

What do you mean by incomplete/partial data?

Can you provide some sample data? Makes it much easier to help you.

TP055972
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there!

What I mean by incomplete/partial is a data entry has been made but the data entry doesn't contain the full text.

For example a data entry to Column City has been made and the user wants to enter Chicago(Example) but in the dataset shows Chi. 

Is there a way to identify this type of data in Sas Viya or Sas studio without going through the entire the rows of data? 

andreas_lds
Jade | Level 19

You will need to define what "incomplete / partial" means for every variable.

Do you have a list of valid entries for the variable city? Here's an idea using sas code:

data have;
   length City $ 25;
   input City $25.;
   datalines;
Boston
Chic
Detroit
L.A.
;

proc format;
   invalue ValidCities (upcase)
      'BOSTON',
      'CHICAGO',
      'DETROIT',
      'LOS ANGELES',
      'MIAMI' = 1
      other = 0
   ;
run;

data invalid;
   set have;

if input(upcase(City), ValidCities.) = 0;
run;

The format ValidCities can be created by importing list.

Maybe there are easier methods with Viya, but i don't think some magic method exists to validate all variables.

TP055972
Calcite | Level 5
HI there!

Alright will try out this method

Thank you for your time
ballardw
Super User

@TP055972 wrote:

Hi there!

What I mean by incomplete/partial is a data entry has been made but the data entry doesn't contain the full text.

For example a data entry to Column City has been made and the user wants to enter Chicago(Example) but in the dataset shows Chi.