BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TimHenderson
Calcite | Level 5

Good morning!

To say that I'm new to SAS is an understatement. While I wish I had more foundational knowledge of databases and programming, the reality is that I do not and my new job requires getting up to speed with SAS. I'm confident I can get there, at some point, but I'm not there yet. Not even close.

I am trying to access a database and have explored various help guides but most assume some base level of knowledge that I simply don't have - so I'm hoping someone here can assist in getting me started. For various reasons, I cannot request someone at my new employer sit down and walk me through everything.

I requested and was granted access to a large database containing roughly 114,000,000 records. The IT staffer emailed me the "libname" to access it:

libname entp odbc noprompt="driver=ODBC Driver 11 for SQL Server; database=entp_rnt; server=dbque2122,2226; trusted_connection=yes" schema="dbo";

Now what? Additionally, I'm told not to "bring a whole table down" because the database is so big. How do I avoid doing that?

I have access to both SAS Enterprise Guide and SAS 9.4.

Furthermore, do you have any recommendations for courses/books that are truly fundamental so I can develop some baseline knowledge of SAS?

Thank you in advance for your help. 

Tim

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Did they provide any documentation on what tables (datasets) are in that database?  Did they provide any information on the columns (variables) in the tables (datasets)?

What do you need to do with the data?  Is there a particular question you are trying to answer? Or statistic you are trying to generate?

To avoid pulling a whole table down make sure you are generating any summaries you need in the data base and only return the summary data instead of the detailed data.  One way is to use explicit passthru SQL code in PROC SQL.  WIth that you will need to write code that work in the remote database.