BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
marty1885
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all.

I'm new to SAS but have been using other analysis tools for a while.

I have been analysing data using ROOT and all of my data is stored in ROOT's TTree format. Recently I'm tasked to export some of my data for statisticians whom use SAS primarily. Are there better way to exchange data between the two frameworks? CSV and JSON are not a viable option as they are huge and clunky. Also, what would be a good way to get data from SAS back into ROOT?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

A quick google search found at least one example of a program to convert Root TTree file into CSV file.

https://root-forum.cern.ch/t/root-tree-to-csv-file-format/27633/3

If you can get that to run then in SAS you can just use the PIPE engine to run it on the fly.

data want;
  infile 'root2csv -f myrootfile' pipe dsd truncover ;
run;

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

I can't think of anything more compact than a gzip'ed csv file for data transfer. Supply a documentation of the structure along with the file, so that the recipients can exactly recreate the data.

SAS can read a gzip'ed csv file in one action like this:

filename ziptest zip 'class.csv.zip'; /* insert the path where you stored the file */

data class;
infile ziptest dlm=',' dsd;
input
  name :$8.
  sex :$1.
  weight
;
run;

The file was created with

data _null_;
file ziptest dlm=',' dsd;
set sashelp.class;
put name sex age height weight;
run;

and the end result of the first piece of code will be an exact replica of the SAS demo dataset SASHELP.CLASS.

PS I used zip as a file format as the forum software does not allow uploading a .gz file.

The zip compression results in 348 bytes, the gzip gives you 248. Change the filename statement to