BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
adzoyi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi! I am struggling with SAS syntax error diagnosis. I am new to SAS and I have been trying hard to resolve simple errors but I still cant. Any help with the below error from my proc procedure please.

proc sql;
    create table Co_STLoc as
    select a.*, b.St_fips AS Client_state, co_fips AS G132
    from Co_ST_Out as a left join Fipsmod1 as b
    on a.State = b.State AND a.county = b.county;

quit;

ERROR: Expression using equals (=) has components that are of different data types.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User
Run a proc contents on each of your input data sets. Check your types fo the State & County variables between each data set. PUT() will convert a number to a character and INPUT() will convert a character to a number.

You can do the conversion in your ON clause directly once you figure it out.

ie
If county was character in table B but numeric in table A this is what your ON should be:
a.county = input(b.county, 8.)

If county was numeric in table B and character in table A you could convert it to a character.
a.County = put(b.county, 8. -l);

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

In a.state=b.state, one data set has state as numeric and the other has state as character. Or, it applies to a.county = b.county.

So you have to have two character variables, or two numeric variables, surrounding the equal sign, for this to work.

--
Paige Miller
Reeza
Super User
Run a proc contents on each of your input data sets. Check your types fo the State & County variables between each data set. PUT() will convert a number to a character and INPUT() will convert a character to a number.

You can do the conversion in your ON clause directly once you figure it out.

ie