BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Aarya
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I am new to SAS and trying to understand how to load data(table) from SAS to HDFS.  Code is written by someone and i am finding it difficult to understand. Can someone please help me in understanding the statements ?

Snippet:

libname testingres hadoop server=servername hdfs_tempdir = 'some location'

user='abc' password='abcd' schema='abc' port=10000

DBCREATE_TABLE_OPTS='STORED AS PARQUET'

subprotocol=hive2;

data testingres.a100;

set sashelp.cars;

run;

Above snippet creates a table in Hive with the name a100.

What i want to understand is,

1. where the create table script is mentioed?

2. where libname 'testingres' will be stored in UNIX machine?

3. How does it know from where we need to pick the table that has to be ingested into HIVE.

4. In the above snippet "sashelp.cars" data will be loaded into a100 table right?

5. At present, to load 10GB of data, it takes around 18 minutes. Is there any 'parallel' option to increase the speed? OR how can i speedup the process.

NOTE: I am using SAS 8 Version.

13 REPLIES 13
alexal
SAS Employee

@Aarya,

where the create table script is mentioed?

Data step creates a table in your Hadoop library. There is no table script.

where libname 'testingres' will be stored in UNIX machine?

That libname uses SAS/ACCESS Interface to Hadoop. So the data will be stored in Hadoop.

How does it know from where we need to pick the table that has to be ingested into HIVE.

set sashelp.cars;

In this case, CARS table from SASHELP library will be loaded to Hadoop.

In the above snippet "sashelp.cars" data will be loaded into a100 table right?

Yes.

At present, to load 10GB of data, it takes around 18 minutes. Is there any 'parallel' option to increase the speed? OR how can i speedup the process.

Yes, that is available in SAS® High-Performance Analytics.

Aarya
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for your response Alexal. however, I am still not clear with the following.