BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
StudyBeane
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, here is my predicament. I'm taking a beginner SAS course concurrently with another course that relies on the information you learned in that beginner class. I have ZERO SAS experience, only R. One of the questions is like this: 

"Create a new variable called “abp” that is coded 1 if the individual’s daily alcohol consumption was 80 g per day or higher, and that is coded 0 if the individual’s daily alcohol consumption was less than 80 g per day."

In the dataset, the acgp (original variable) is:

0 = 0-39 grams per day

1 = 40-79 grams per day

2 = 80-119 grams per day

3 = 120+ grams per day

So, just by scouring around youtube and other resources, I did: 

if acgp in (2,3) THEN abp = 1;
ELSE IF acgp in (0,1) THEN abp = 0;
run;

Now this will run but the output data is nothing, it gives me two columns with acgp and acp and no rows. The code I received was from a few basic codes given to me. I don't know SAS at all, so I don't know if I have to do anything else before doing the IF/ELSE statement? My data is a SAS data set, its already read into my program. Any advice would be VERY much appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You left out two key pieces of information needed to create a program to do what you wanted.

The NAME of the existing dataset that has the variable ACGP.

The NAME of the NEW dataset you want to create that will have the NEW variable ABP.

Let's assume those are HAVE and WANT, respectively.

Also your logic does not have any instructions for what to do when the value ACGP is something else, such as a missing value or an invalid code.

data want;
  set have;
  if acgp in (2,3) then abp = 1;
  else if acgp in (0,1) then abp = 0;
  else abp=.;
run;