BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
va003
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am a new SAS user, and this is my first time posting a question. I did try to look for existing answers but I have not seen a similar question being asked. So maybe it's either not feasible or laughably simple. So please bare with me.

I have a table with a date variable, a "RF" (stands for "risk free") variable, and 20+ variables with these names:

small_lobm, me1_bm2, ,me1_bm3, me1_bm4, small_hibm, 

me2_bm1, me2_bm2, ,me2_bm3, me2_bm4, me2_bm5,

me3_bm1, me3_bm2, ,me3_bm3, me3_bm4, me3_bm5,

me4_bm1, me4_bm2, ,me4_bm3, me4_bm4, me4_bm5,

big_lobm, me5_bm2, ,me5_bm3, me5_bm4, big_hibm

(I break them into 5 lines just for the ease of reading so you can see how the names were constructed). So what I am trying to do is, for each of these 20+ variables, create a new column that is equal to variable - RF. Something like this:

Data want;
set have;
small_lobmx = small_lobm - RF;
run;

I try to see if it's possible to not have to do that same thing 20+ times for each of them. And I don't need to keep the old 20+ ones afterward. I'm using AS 9.4. Please help and thank you very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Hello @va003 and again welcome to the SAS Support Communities!

You can use arrays and a DO loop to perform the calculation "newvar = oldvar - RF" for all 20+ variables. While the list of the existing 20+ variables could be written as small_lobm--big_hibm (assuming that small_lobm is the first and big_hibm is the last of the 20+ variables in the dataset), we need another technique to construct the new variable names (with suffix "x"). One possible way to do this is to retrieve the variable names from dictionary table COLUMNS.