BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kenwill
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to SAS and would need some expert advice.

I try to create a table of 3 variables. The hypothetical data is saved as table.sas7bdat as attached.

Also attached is the report table format I need (see Table.xlsx).

I used the follow proc freq codes to create the table I want but it gives me 3 separate tables instead. Also, I couldn't produce the column formats I need. 

proc freq data = test.table (where=(temperature not in ('warm')));
table month*time*temperature / out = class norow nocol nopercent
;
run
;

Please advise me what's the correct codes to produce the table. 

Also, is it possible to use PROC TABULATE or some other approach to create the same table?

Thank you!

Regards, 

Ken

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@kenwill wrote:

Hi,

Thanks so much! This is very helpful. 

I have added a 'where' statement to filter out the 'warm' category. 

proc tabulate data=test.table;
where temperature ~= 'warm';
class month time temperature;
table time=' ' all='Total',
month=' '*temperature=' '*n=' '
;
run;

However, I want just 2 columns for each month: first column for the combined frequency of cool, cold, and freeze (and name the variable as 'not warm'), and the second column for just the freeze frequency. Any advice on how should I approach it? Appreciate.

Thank you.

Regards, 

Ken

There are two basic approaches to treating multiple values as a single category for reporting. One is to go back to your data and create an additional variable with if/then/else statements. Which can get tedious repeated visits to keep adding different variables.