BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8

hello everyone, I'm new to programming in SAS and I would like to do 2 macros, the first one I have done and it consists of giving 3 parameters: name of the input table, name of the column, name of the output table. What this macro does is translate the rare or accented characters, passing it a table and specifying in which column you want the rare characters to be translated:

The code to do this macro is this:

%macro translate_column(table,column,name_output);

*%LET table = TEST_MACRO_TRNSLT;
*%let column = marca;
*%let name_output = COSAS;

PROC SQL;
CREATE TABLE TEST AS
SELECT *
FROM &table.;
QUIT;

data &NAME_OUTPUT;
set TEST;
&column.=tranwrd(&column., "Á", "A");
run;
%mend;
%translate_column(TEST_MACRO_TRNSLT,marca,COSAS);

The problem comes when I try to do the second macro, that I want to replicate what I do in the first one but instead of having the columns that I can introduce to 1, let it be infinite, that is, if in a data set I have 4 columns with characters rare, can you translate the rare characters of those 4 columns. I don't know if I have to put a previously made macro in a parameter and then make a kind of loop or something in the macro.

Could someone give me a hand on this? I would be very grateful

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Over complicated. You can apply the translate you are looking at to ALL character variables in a data set using an array.

data want;
   set have;
   array _c (*) _character_;
   do i = 1 to dim(_c);
     _c[i] = translate(_c[i],"Auea","Áüéâ");
   end;
   drop i;
run;