BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8

​Hi, I'm new to SAS programming and I'm trying to store different values in different macro variables automatically with the following code:

data _null_;
	set TABLE_WITH_DAYS;
	call symput ('dia'||left(_n_),trim(day);
	call symput ('ndia',_n_);
run;

​With this code, what I do is store in macrovariables with different names (&dia1, &dia2, &dia3, &dia4...) the following values (20220101,20220102,20220103,20220104...). The problem is that it returns macros with numerical values and I want the days to be in string like this: ('20220101','20220102','20220103','20220104').

I have tried to do it this way but it doesn't work for me, would someone know where I should put the "put" function or how I should do it?

data _null_;
	set TABLE_WITH_DAYS;
	call symput ('dia'||left(_n_),strip(put(day, best32.)));
	call symput ('ndia',_n_);
run;

These are the macro variables that I generate with the first code, what I want is for it to return the values in string instead of numeric:

Abelp9_0-1658230730417.png

Thanks in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Let us start with the discussion about how DATA values usually do not belong stored in macro variables. This is usually inefficient and causes beginners such as you to struggle creating the proper macro variables. So before I go ahead and straighten out your macro issue, please explain why you need data values such as these stored in macro variables. What exactly will you do with all of these macro variables once you have them??? Please be specific and detailed, as it is quite probable you don't need macro variables at all.

--
Paige Miller
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8