BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mothert
Calcite | Level 5

I am relatively new to SAS and I am trying to calculate Race and ethnicity from a matric table as Follows:

HispanicWhite BlackAsianAmerican Indian/Native AmericanHawaiian/Pacific IslanderUnknown
NYNNNN 
NYNNNN 
ZYNNNN 
NYNNYN 
NYNNNN 
ZZZZZZ 
YNNNNN 

Y = Yes, N=No, Z=Unknown

I just need to get a count of each race and add a 'Multiracial' variable, not sure how to do that since each race is its own variable and not sure how to code for multiracial. Multiracial would be Y to any two or more of the races. And if Hispanic = Y then only Hispanic regardless if any other race = Y.

Thanks,

Thomas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Using letters Y N Z is not the easiest way to do things here, in my opinion.

Using numeric value 1 0 and missing makes the problem a lot simpler. So, if you start where the values are 1 0 and missing, then this gets you the desired result.

data have2;
    set have;
    if sum(of hispanic--hawaiian)>1 and hispanic^=1 then multiracial=1;
    else multiracial=0;
    if n(of hispanic--hawaiian)=0 then unknown=1; 
    else unknown=0;
run;
proc summary data=have2;
    var hispanic--hawaiian multiracial unknown;
    output out=want sum=;
run;

Now, since you are new, I point out that we can only work with data in SAS data set, not the screen capture of your data that you show which doesn't even have valid variable names. So you can make your SAS coding simple if your data is in meaningful form, and you must have valid SAS variable names.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Using letters Y N Z is not the easiest way to do things here, in my opinion.