BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
marina_esp
Obsidian | Level 7

Dear SAS-users,

I am very new to SAS and apologise for rather a basic question.

I wonder what is the difference between applying a new format using FORMAT and creating a new variable with the new format using PUT? 

Below is the example of custom-formatting ParcCode variable. I tried both - using the FORMAT and create new variable Region using  PUT. In the output table the both ParkCode and Region columns look identical, but the format of the Region is blank. 

Is there any crucial difference between the two approaches? I understand that I'll need PUT to transform numeric to character, but in this case ParkCode is already a character, so I apparently can just use FORMAT then?

data np_lookup;
	retain FmtName "$RegLbl";
    set pg2.np_codeLookup (rename=(ParkCode = Start));
    if Region ne " " then Label = Region;
    	else Label = "Unknown";
    	keep start label fmtname;
run;

proc format cntlin=np_lookup;
run;

data np_endanger;
    set pg2.np_species;
    where Conservation_Status='Endangered';
    Region = put(parkcode, $reglbl.); 
    format parkcode $reglbl.  ;
run;

I appreciate some tips and links to resources where I can find an answer!

Marina

Marina Espinasse,
statistician at the University hospital in Northern Norway
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
marina_esp
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi @PaigeMiller  and @Jagadishkatam,

Thank you for your answers! You explained perfectly and now I understand the critical difference between the two approached.

Again, many thanks!

Marina

Marina Espinasse,

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16