BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SJ12
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I want to use the last dataset below called nova to add a total row (so I can obtain total kcals for each nova category (total_nova1 to total_nova4)) or directly use a function to obtain the percentage of kcals per category for all participants (to divide the kcals of each category by the grand total). For example, I want to have the % of kcals for total_nova4 for all participants. I'm having difficulty using proc tabulate as I can't use class nova or var kcals like I did in the first proc tabulate in the synthax since those variables don't exist in my new dataset nova (I don't know how to identify the variables). The numbers in the last dataset (nova) represent kcals (calories). total_nova1 to total_nova4 represent nova 1-4. Please let me know if I am unclear. I am still new to SAS. Thanks

Synthax: 

data test;
input id foodtype $ Nova $ Subnova $ kcals;
datalines;
001 butter 1 oils 10
001 fish 2 protein 15
001 banana 3 fruit 10
001 cherry 4 fruit 25
002 burger 2 frozen 5
002 pumpkin 2 other 4
002 carrot 3 veg 6
003 apple 1 fruit 100
003 tahini 4   spread   60
004 .   .    .   0
005 burger  2  frozen  13
005 ceral  3 grain 56
005 milk  1  prod 35
005 vinegar 4  Other  100
006 .    .   .   0
006 vinegar 4  Other  100
;
run;

proc tabulate data=test out=test1;
   class id nova;
   var kcals;
   table id all='All participants',
        (nova all='Total calories per participant')*
             kcals=' '*(sum='Total calories');
run;

proc print data=test1;run;

data nova1;
 set test1;
  where nova="1";
    total_nova1= kcals_sum;
    if missing(id) then delete;
 keep id total_nova1;
 run;

data nova2;
 set test1;
  where nova="2";
    total_nova2= kcals_sum;
 keep id total_nova2;
 run;

data nova3;
 set test1;
  where nova="3";
    total_nova3= kcals_sum;
 keep id total_nova3;
 run;

data nova4;
 set test1;
  where nova="4";
    total_nova4= kcals_sum;
 keep id total_nova4;
 run;