BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dblamcvy
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm using version 9.4 with about 8gb of free memory for SAS to use on this optimization problem - not sure if that's too small for my problem. This is my first time trying to use Proc OPTMODEL. I'm pretty familiar with base sas, but this method of thinking/coding is very new to me. I'm trying to use an automated test assembly method as detailed in van der linden "linear models for optimal test assembly" (image attached for section describing 5.18-5.21).

vanderlinden.jpg

BACKGROUND:

Essentially I have a pool of test items. Each item has categories it can belong to that I've marked in the "binary" dataset.

Content: addition, subtraction, fraction, multiplication, etc

Depth of knowledge: DOK1, DOK2, DOK3

Item type: multiple choice, constructed response, etc

Each item also has parameters that are associated with an item response theory model. When plugging these parameters into a function and adding all the item functions together you get a test function value. The goal of the automated test assembly is to match a target test function with the sum of these optimally selected item function values, while also hitting specific content , depth of knowledge, and item type constraints.

In my data I have the target values as 'set1' and 'set2', and I have the item function values that I've already calculated at specific x axis points as r1 and r2. The r1s for selected items should sum as close as possible to the value of 'set1'. The main constraints that are causing problems are below. The categorical constrains on content and such don't seem to be causing problems. When SAS runs out of memory, it still produces results that are basically what I want, which is what makes me believe that perhaps my coding method is just really inefficient: