BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
J_Grabowski
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Everyone,

Im fairly new to optmodel, so this may be newbie question, but i've already spent alot of time on this and would appreciate greatly if you could help me out.

The objective:

I have two pools of clients that i am trying to pair based on some discreet criteria and their spend in a number of common weeks.

The objective is to find pairs that fulfill the criteria and minimize the sum of weekly differences between the pairs.

One client from each pool can  be assigned to no more then one client from another pool.

The problem:

The code i wrote works fine as long as we have enough clients from the second pool to find a match for every client from the first pool. When that's not true, either due to the criteria, or simply not enough clients in pool 2 to find a match for every client in the pool1, the problems becomes infeasible.

This is not the behavior i am trying to achieve - what i would like to see in a situtation when its impossible to find a match for all the clients from pool1 is matching the best possible ones(so the ones minimizing the sum of differnces) and leaving out the infeasible ones.

An example:

I have prepared a simplified version of the code im using, that i think clearly showcases the problem:

/*Creating Datasets*/

data weeks;
	do week = 201801 to 201810;
		output;
	end;
run;

/*5 clients in the first pool*/
data clients1;
	do client_id = 1 to 5;
		output;
	end;
run;

/*only 4 clients in the second pool*/
data clients2;
	do client_id = 101 to 104;
		output;
	end;
run;

data sales;
	do client_id = 1 to 5;
			flag="clients1";
			spends=1000*ranuni(1000);
			output;
		end;
	end;
	do client_id = 101 to 104;
			flag="clients2";
			output;
		end;
	end;
run;

proc optmodel;
	set weeks;
	read data weeks into weeks = [week];

/*clients 1*/
	set clients1;