BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
vioravis
Calcite | Level 5

I have both SAS/OR and SAS/IML and would like to perform nonlinear optimization on the values returned by a macro. This macro takes A and B as input and returns a result specific for the A and B values. There are also lower and upper bounds on both A and B, I have given a pseudo code that explains this:

MACRO returnResult(A, B)

{

result = function (A, B)

}

The objective function to minimized is the "result" returned by the macro with upper and lower bounds on A and B. Can some please help how we can set it up as a nonlinear optimization problem using SAS/OR or SAS/IML?

Thank you.

Ravi

21 REPLIES 21
vioravis
Calcite | Level 5

Specifically, if I have a macro that contains the following data steps that calculates the objective function, is it possible to use them with in either PROC IML or OPTMODEL (I am new to both). Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

/*create some test data*/

DATA test (drop=i);

input X Y Z;

do i=1 to 2000;

output;

end;

cards;

1 10 0

2 20 0

3 30 0

4 40 0

5 50 0

;

data _null_;

if 0 then set test nobs=nobs;

CALL SYMPUT('NUMREC',nobs);      /*** put # of records into NUMREC macro var ***/

stop;                            /*** stop, got number of records ***/

run;

/* now read values of x and y into arrays, and then

reread test and do calculations*/

data want (drop=_:);

array _xval(&numrec); /* create two arrays with same number of

elements as there are records in test

*/

array _yval(&numrec);

i=0;

do until (eof1);      /* load the array with x and y values */

set test end=eof1;

i+1;

_xval(i)=x;

_yval(i)=y;

end;

_rec=-1;

do until (eof2);      /* read in each record separately */

set test end=eof2;

_rec+1;

z=0;

do _i=1 to _rec;

z+_xval(_i)*_yval(&numrec-_rec+_i);

end;

output;

end;

run;

Ravi

RobPratt
SAS Super FREQ

You can do something like the following in OPTMODEL:

proc optmodel;

set OBS;

num x {OBS};

num y {OBS};

num n = card(OBS);