BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dblamcvy
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I'm currently using SAS 9.4 on Windows. I'm pretty new to OPTMODEL, I've tried to solve this myself, but I just can't seem to figure out how to do it. Essentially, I'm building 5 test forms from a pool of 136 items. I'm using a matrix x[136,5] of binary values that are 1 if the item is selected and 0 if not. Each item has a content domain it belongs to (A B C), and a 'height' value of a curve when used in a psychometric model. The sum of the items' curves create the form's curve. 

This is an extension of a previous post from months ago that has some visuals of what the optimization is for and a reference to the optimization method when generating a single form: https://communities.sas.com/t5/Mathematical-Optimization/Proc-OPTMODEL-using-objective-in-4-constrai...

I'm trying to generate 5 forms with the objective:

Minimize:

• y

Subject to:

• An item can appear a maximum of 3 times across the 5 forms
  • 9 items from content domain A are selected, 9 from B, and 12 from C
  • Maximum of 30 items per form (redundant with current setup)
  • 2 constraints con p16_TCC_pos and con p16_TCC_neg that help minimize deviation between a target test curve height (13.374) and the 5 optimally generated forms' curve values.

With just these constraints the code provided works, however, the last constraint I need is that any pair of forms can not have more than 7 items in common. I'm having problems getting this to work because I don't know how to apply the logic of the conditional compare while also using syntax appropriate for OPTMODEL into an impvar or constraint.

The logic I was thinking I could use to do this is along the lines of:

num count init 0;
for {c in compares} do;	
	for{j in 1..4, b in j+1..5} do;  *for forms 12,13,14,15,23,24,25,34,35,45;
		count=count+1;
		if count>10 then leave;