BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TimoK
Calcite | Level 5

Hi guys,

I am still fairly new to SAS and would be very happy if I could get some help/your opinion with a question. I have started working with PROC OPTMODEL and the data handling remains a bit of a mistery to me: I constructed a simple nonlinear price optimization model: I have 4 products {N} over 2 weeks {wee}. Each product has a cost and elasticity that is stable over the two weeks (hence only only a vector with index {N}) and  "base sales" which vary over the two weeks (hence an array with index {T,N}). Decision variable is price {T,N}. No constraints except for non-negativity. I then formulate an objective function and want to optimize profit (pi) with two nested sums (one for weeks, one for products):  pi = sum{w in wee}(sum{i in N}(base[w,i]*price[w,i]+cost*price[w,i]+(price[w,i]^2)*elast-cost*elast*price[w,i])) 

With a lot of work, I got the code below to go through, however, from a data handling perspective, I have a feeling that I am missing the point.

I have 2 (very similar) questions:

1 - In the actual model later, the data will not be in matrix style but will be one solid table. So, I will have one file that will have all the data in it: product data and and product/week specific data:

(i.e.      week prod cost elast base

1      1     3.99  -3     200 

2     1     3.99  -3      180

1      2     1.22  ....)

What is best practice to handel this in SAS: Would you prep the data via a seperate DATA step or some SQL queries so that they end up in the matrix format already, then pick it up with PROC OPTMODEL ... OR... is there a convenient way that I can handle a table like the above in PROC OPTMODEL? (somehow it feels wrong to transfer it into array/vector format and then use the read data statement in the procedure itself).