BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KPee
Calcite | Level 5

Hello my name is Kendall. I am trying to teach myself how to use SAS studio. I have little knowledge on it but have learned a lot in the past couple of days. My ultimate goal is to become efficient in learning how to use the program and learn coding. I would also like to build an optimization model for my fantasy basketball team. Where i have to pick 8 players, one in each position of PG,SG,SF,PF,C G, F and Util…. The G can be either PG or SG. The F can be either SF or PF and the UTIL can be any one of the original 5 listed. I was wondering if you guys would be able to help me and teach me at the same time. I have attached the data i use and created in excel just to give you an idea of what i will be working with.

There are also certain criteria that needs to be meet with this optimal lineup. The players combined can not exceed $50,000 price tag. I would like to use USG and DvP and Projections columns to choose the top players. I would actually like to use a lot more but i can implement that later once i learn to develop it on my own. If you guys would be able to assist me i would greatly appreciate it.

13 REPLIES 13
KPee
Calcite | Level 5

I read up on this but like i said I'm a noob and didn't really understand how to use it with my certain situation..

Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Okay, I will try to nutshell this:

To solve this kind of problem, the best way (also the official way) is  Proc OPTModel, which is part of SAS OR, is an expert and his code in the referred thread is not difficult to follow.  I am not sure about your SAS studio, if it is the element that goes with EBI system for your organization, you need to check; if it is the free University edition, you are out of luck.

Another way to tackle it requires sophisticated SAS programming skills, and so far it can't compete PROC OPTMODEL on both performance and  reliability. but you said you are a noob?Smiley Wink