BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Amali6
Quartz | Level 8

Hi i am a student,

I am very new to sas and am working on hotel demand dataset, I want to show the maximum booking month by counting the values of arrival_date_month which is a variable in my dataset. I tried it but i am not getting what i want. I want to sort the order of variables inside a bar chart,please help!

I have used this code:

axis label=(h=10pt font='Arial/bo');

axis label=(h=10pt font='Arial/bo' angle=90);

ods listing;
 proc gchart data=hotel.main1;
title 'Highest booking month';
 vbar arrival_date_month / type=sum
 patternid=midpoint
 maxis=axis1
 raxis=axis2;
label arrival_date_month='count';
 run;

quit;

Could you please help where i am wrong in the code? Please let me know i can explain better my question .

Thanks in advance.

Amali

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

What variables inside a bar chart? You don't say what that variable would be.

I would also suggest moving to Proc SGPLOT instead. There isn't any development going on with the older Gchart and Gplot procedures.

Maybe something along these lines:

proc sgplot data=hotel.main1;
 vbar arrival_date_month /response=<some variable name to sum>
           stat=sum group=<variable to indicate groups>
           groupdisplay=stack grouporder= data
 ;
 run;

creates on bar for each value of arrival_date_month;

the variable after RESPONSE is what would be summed to get the size of the value block

Group would be any variable indicating a group of related records maybe "hotel" since your topic may involve hotels, or a variable that holds a geographic indicator.

Groupdisplay can be Stack (one bar) or Cluster which would have each group value as a separate bar within the month . The  grouporder indicates which order to arrange the groups, data use the value of the statistic.