BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
tiger86
Calcite | Level 5

I am fairly new to using PROC TEMPLATE. I want to use it to plot multiple charts (scatter plots with other overlays), arranged in a grid pattern, and output to PDF. I have worked out how to plot to grids, and output to PDF, but I don't know how I can conditionally specify which rows in the data is used for each plot, so for example I want to plot a scatterplot of A, a separate scatterplot of B, and so on, arranging them in a 2 by 3 grid in landscape orientation.

I have tried using the GTL conditional logic with macros to generate multiple scatterplot statements conditional on Category, but couldn't get it to work. From what I gather I cannot use conditional statements to control which rows I want to plot. Is this correct? I then tried using conditional statements with macros on the PROC RENDER step, but it no longer gives me the grid pattern I specified in PROC TEMPLATE, and so I have concluded I need to have one PROC RENDER call. Is this correct?

Finally, this has led me to the conclusion that I have to transpose the data from a long file into a wide file. However, I have many Categories and it would make a data very wide. Am I on the right track at this stage, or are there more elegant solutions I have missed?

Thanks for your help

My data has the following general form:

Category  X  Y

A              1  10

A              2  15

...             ...  ...

B             1  100

B             2  150

...            ...  ...

etc          etc etc

3 REPLIES 3
WarrenKuhfeld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

https://blogs.sas.com/content/graphicallyspeaking/2017/05/29/advanced-ods-graphics-gtl-expressions/

See this post. Rather than plotting a variable, I plot an expression that excludes some observations: