BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mitchell_keener
Obsidian | Level 7

I apologize if this is the wrong board, but since I am using PROC GMAP, I posted here. I am using SAS 9.4 TS1M5. 

I am new to mapping and I am trying to map Puerto Rico using the mapsgfk.us_all dataset supplied with SAS. I need the map to be at the county (municipio) level. When I create the map using this dataset, it maps it at the county subdivision level. My data is still mapping correctly (filling up each sub division to fill the entire county), but considering my data is at the county level I would rather not give the impression my data is more granular. Does anyone know of a way to remove the subdivision lines and only show the major county lines? The odd thing is that it seems Puerto Rico has more granular information than the rest of the US in this file. When using the ID field in mapsgfk.us_all for the id statement in PROC GMAP, it maps all of the US correctly using a code such as 'US-15001' and the ID2 field is empty, but for Puerto Rico data, the ID field looks more granular such as 'PR-7200100401' and the ID2 field looks more like the other identifiers 'PR-72001'. When I try to use ID2 to map the data, it looks very distored. I included code below which maps Puerto Rico at the subdivision level and I included images of what the non-distorted map looks like (using ID) and what the distorted map looks like (using ID2 which seems to be at the county level). I have tried using PROC GREDUCE, but it seems like this is not solving the problem but I wonder if it is needed here. If anyone knows how to only map the county lines and not the subdivision lines, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

proc gmap map=mapsgfk.us_all data=mapsgfk.us_all ;
   id id;
   choro state / nolegend ;
   where statecode="PR";
run;
	quit;

Non-distorted PR.pngdistorted PR.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION